What is Para Rowing

Originally called ‘Adapted Rowing’, para rowing was first introduced in 2002. Para rowing has similar rules to able-bodied rowing with all individuals rowing over a 1000 meters distance. However, boats can be adapted to support individuals with physical impairments.

Who Can Take Part?

Individuals with a physical impairment can participate. However, individuals must have the functional ability to row a boat effectively.


There is no single classification for individuals with Cerebral Palsy, however the classification system is designed to make sure individuals can compete without being at a disadvantage. The classification system comprises of three classes.

LTA-PD : for rowers with a verifiable and permanent disability who have functional use of their legs, trunk and arms for rowing, and who can utilise the sliding seat to propel the boat.
TA : functional use of the trunk movement but weakness in the lower limbs so unable to use the sliding seat to propel the boat.
AS : for rowers who have no or minimal trunk function.

World Rowing

Para rowing is uniquely integrated with the World Rowing Federation, FISA, and para rowers participate alongside able-bodied athletes at some of the World Rowing Cups and the World Rowing Championships each year. Para rowing is currently divided into nine boat classes:

PR3 : mixed coxed four, mixed double sculls, men’s pair, women’s pair
PR2 : mixed double sculls, men’s single sculls, women’s single sculls
PR1 : men’s single sculls, women’s single sculls