Para Triathlon

What is Para Triathlon?

Para Triathlon is a multi-sport event which is made up of three components and requires individuals to swim, cycle and run. Para Triathlon is open to all athletes who are able to do all three components of the event. Para Triathlon can occur on local, national and international levels.

Who Can Take Part?

All individuals who have physical and visual impairments are allowed to compete in Para Triathlon, and will be classified according to their level of impairment.


Individuals who have Cerebral Palsy will be classed in either classification PT1, PT2, PT3 or PT4. Individuals who are able to use a bike and run, will be classified either in PT2, PT3 and PT4 where they will be assessed depending upon how their condition has affected them.

Individuals who cannot use a bike or are unable to run (i.e. a wheelchair user) will be classified as a PT1, and would need to be able to use a handbike within the cycling component and a racing wheelchair within the running component.

International Triathlon Union

The goals of the ITU Para Triathlon committee are:

To oversee the development of Para Triathlon within the triathlon community by growing participation at all levels, building a pathway to and developing elite performance, evolving events and building the sport’s profile.

To uphold ethical principles and fair play at all times including moving towards an evidence based Classification System.

To work with the IPC in preparation for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games after the successful debut at Rio de Janeiro in 2016, to promote the Paralympic values and to foster the growth of Paratriathlon as it becomes an integral and contributing part of the Paralympic movement