Para Cycling

What is Para Cycling?

Para Cycling has been developed in order to include more people with a wide range of impairments and medical conditions. It can either be done as a recreational activity where individuals can use a range of adapted bikes, or competitively at club, national and international level.

Who Can Take Part?

Individuals with CP can take part in cycling recreationally or competitively. There are four bike options; normal two-wheeler bikes, three-wheeler trikes, handbikes (for those who are unable to balance on a two or threewheeler) and tandem bikes (for people with a visual impairment).


The classifications for cyclists with Cerebral Palsy starts with C1 and goes to C5 for individuals on two-wheeler bikes, and is either T1 or T2 for individuals on three-wheeler trikes.

The para cycling classifiers look at how an individual’s condition (including the tightness in their legs, balance and mobility of their limbs), affects their ability to cycle a bike or a trike. The more a condition causes the individual difficulty to cycle, the lower the classification number will be for a cyclist.

Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI)

Para cycling was integrated into the UCI from the International Paralympic Committee in 2007. Competitive para-cycling includes two disciplines, the road and the track, and seven specialities.
• Road race (men and women)
• Individual time trial (men and women)
• Handcycling team relay (men and women, mixed event)
• Tandem sprint (men and women)
• Team sprint (men and women, mixed event)
• 500m time trial (men and women) or kilometre time trial (men and women)
• Individual pursuit (men and women)
• Scratch race (men and women)