What is Para Badminton?

Para badminton is a sport played using racquets to hit a shuttlecock across a net. It can be played in men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles and mixed doubles. Depending on the classification, singles are either played in full court or half court.

Who Can Take Part?

Individuals with impaired muscle power, athetosis, impaired passive range of movement, hypertonia, ataxia and leg length difference are all eligible to play para badminton. It can be enjoyed recreationally or competitively as long as the individual is able to hold the badminton racquet.


There are six Sport Classes in para badminton, five of which can include individuals with CP –

Wheelchair Classes:
WH1 – athletes usually have impairments in both lower limbs and trunk.
WH2 – athletes have impairments in one or both lower limbs and minimal or no trunk impairment.

Standing Classes:
SL3 – Athletes have impairment in one or both lower limbs and have poor walking/running balance.
SL4 – Athletes have a lower limb impairment but it is milder than those in SL3.
SU5 – Athletes have impairment in their upper limbs only

Badminton World Federation

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is recognised by the IPC as the world governing body for para badminton. BWF promotes a “one sport – one team” philosophy – badminton and para badminton together.

Para badminton has been competed internationally since the 1990’s and the first World Championships was held in the Netherlands in 1998. Badminton is now a Paralympic sport and will make it’s debut at the 2020 Paralympic Games in Tokyo.