Originally called ‘Adapted Rowing’, Rowing which people with disabilities could participate in was first introduced in the 2002. Rowing has similar rules to able-bodied rowing with all individuals rowing over a 1000 meters distance. However, to assist some athletes with physical impairments, boats can be adapted to support individuals.

Rowing Events

Rowing has three main events.

  1. The Single Sculls,
  2. The Mixed Sculls,
  3. The Mixed Coxed Four.

Each of these events are done in different types of boats. However, individuals with a higher degree of impairment can only participate within the Single and Mixed Sculls, whereas individuals with a lower degree of impairment can only participate within the Single Sculls and Mixed Coxed Four. .

Eligible Impairment Types

Individuals with a physical impairment can participate. However, individuals must have the ability to row a boat effectively.

Classification Classes including Cerebral Palsy athletes

There is no single classification for individuals with Cerebral Palsy, however the classification system is designed to make sure individuals can compete without being at a disadvantage. The classification system comprises of three classifications.

  • LTA-PD, for rowers with a verifiable and permanent disability who have functional use of their legs, trunk and arms for rowing, and who can utilise the sliding seat to propel the boat,
  • TA, for rowers who have functional use of the trunk movement and who are unable to use the sliding seat to propel the boat because of significantly weakened function or mobility of the lower limbs.
  • AS, for rowers who have no or minimal trunk function.


Under Development