Introduction to Para Triathlon

Para Triathlon is a multi-sport event is which made up of three components and requires individuals to swim, cycle and run. The Para Triathlon is open to all athletes who are able to do all three components of the event. The Para Triathlon can occur on local, national and international levels.

Para Triathlon Events

As a multi-sport event, the Para Triathlon has three main components which athletes have to do.

  1. A 750 meter swim,
  2. A 20 kilometer cycle (which can be done on a handbike or a tandem depending on your classification),
  3. A 5 kilometer run (which can be done in a racing wheelchair depending on your classification)

Depending upon the individual classification, assistants are also allowed to help athletes in transitioning between the swimming, cycling and running components of a Para Triathlon event (such as with changing and preparing for the next component of the event). However, assistants are not allowed to coach or motivate individuals on during these transitioning periods.

The Para Triathlon can occur on club, regional, national and international levels

Eligible Impairment Types

All individuals who have physical and virtual impairments are allowed to compete in the Paratriathlon, and will be classified according to their level of impairment.

Classification Classes including Cerebral Palsy athletes

Individuals who have Cerebral Palsy will be classed in either classification PT1, PT2, PT3 or PT4. Individuals who are able to use a bike and run, will be classified either in PT2, PT3 and PT4 where they will be assess depending upon how their condition has affected them. Individuals who cannot use a bike or are able to run (i.e. a wheelchair user) will be classified as a PT1, but would need to be able to use a handbike within the cycling component and a racing wheelchair within the running component. Individuals within PT1 will be put into one of two classifications depending upon the how much their condition has affected them.


Under Development